May reading wrap-up + favourites šŸ“šā¤ļø

may20

Hello There

As we’re in June, I’d like to start this post by wishing everyone a Happy Pride! šŸ³ļøā€šŸŒˆ

Weā€™re already ten days into June and here am I, with a very late May wrap-up. I hope that you’re all well and are able to take care of yourselves as much as you can, in the midst of everything that is going on in the world. ā¤ļø

I didn’t post anything here last week, but Black Lives Matter today, tomorrow and always. We still need to talk about it, being an ally to the black community isn’t a trend that lasts a week: it’s important to listen, educate yourself, donate if you can and continue supporting the movement in the long run. This link is really helpful if you need more information, want to sign more petitions, donate and so on. I know I need to do better and to educate myself, so I’m working towards that as well.

what i read

Overall, May was a satisfying reading month, I participated in the Tome Topple readathon, which focuses on reading books over 500 pages, and caught up on two book series! I enjoyed most of the books I read, which is great, but I also abandoned two books, so… Anyway, here are the books I read in May:

  • The Silence of BonesĀ by June Hur, 3.5/5 stars
  • Children of Virtue and VengeanceĀ by Tomi Adeyemi, 3/5 stars
  • A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold by George R.R. Martin, 4/5 stars
  • KingsbaneĀ by Claire Legrand, 4/5 stars
  • The Ballad of Songbirds and SnakesĀ by Suzanne Collins, 3/5 stars
  • The Poppy WarĀ by R.F. Kuang (reread), 5/5 stars
  • Realm of AshĀ by Tasha Suri, 4/5 stars
  • Sawkill GirlsĀ by Claire Legrand, 4/5 stars

may20-fave-book

My favourite book of the month wasĀ Realm of Ash by Tasha Suri. It’s the second book in an adult fantasy duology set in a Mughal India-inspired world, which I found so fascinating: while the first book focused on magic that has to do with dancing and storms, this second book somehow focused on death magic and I always find interesting to read about death magic, so I really enjoyed that. I also adored the characters introduced in this book and just like with the first book, I got way too emotional over the ending, because it was everything I wanted. I love this duology so much. ā¤ļø

favourites

may20-shows

šŸ“ŗ TV SHOWS // She-Ra and the Princesses of Power, Killing Eve and Harley Quinn

She-Ra and the Princesses of PowerĀ ended last month and after seeing everyone rave about it, I finally started watching it and it makes me so happy. This show follows Adora, raised by the Horde, who finds a magical sword and becomes the legendary warrior She-Ra. After understanding how the Horde really is, she joins the Rebellion and fights alongside the princesses of different kingdoms. The show was created by Noelle Stevenson (who wrote and drew Nimona and Lumberjanes), it has major LGBTQIA+ representation and overall, it’s just the best.

The third season of Killing EveĀ continued airing in May and I loved it so much! This show is one of my favourites, I adore Villanelle and Eve and I couldn’t get enough of this season. I already miss it, I can’t wait for season 4 whenever they can film it, then release it.

Last but not least, the secondĀ season ofĀ Harley QuinnĀ is still airing and this show is quickly becoming one of my favourite animated TV shows ever! I love everything it’s doing, how it portrays the characters andĀ I laughed so hard when one of the episodes started by criticising dudebros. Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy are my absolute faves and considering everything that’s going on in the show at the moment, I’m hoping I’ll get what I want by the end of the season… After all, season 2 will end during Pride. šŸ‘€

city--of-lover

šŸŽµ MUSIC // Taylor Swift City of Lover Concert

Taylor Swift has been my favourite artist for more than a decade now, so I was really happy that they released her concert in Paris for her newest album,Ā Lover, on Disney+ in May! I was supposed to see her live in Belgium in June, but her tour was cancelled because of COVID-19, so I’m over the moon I still get to watch her City of LoverĀ concert over and over! Of course, I’ve been listening to the live version of the songsĀ a lot during May and I plan on learning to playĀ DaylightĀ on the piano soon (I started learning LoverĀ on the guitarĀ months ago, so!).

So that’s it for my (very late) May wrap-up! I hope that you’re all well and are able to take care of yourselves. ā¤ļø

How was May for you? Did you discover any new favourite books?Ā 
lots of love

Leave a comment